Affiliate Faculty

Robin Abrams

Professor of Architecture
College of Design
robin_abrams@ncsu.edu
Interests: sustainability, green infrastructure, inner city revitalization, housing, and city design

 

Derek Aday

Professor and Department Head of Applied Ecology
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
ddaday@ncsu.edu
Interests: aquatic ecology, conservation biology, fishery science, and environmental toxicology

 

Marcelo Ardon Sayao

Assistant Professor of Forestry and Environmental Resources
College of Natural Resources
mlardons@ncsu.edu
Interests: salinization, wetland ecology, biogeochemistry, and carbon processing

 

Sankar Arumugam

Professor of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
sarumug@ncsu.edu
Interests: modeling, hydroclimatology, water resources planning, and environmental assessment

 

Emily Berglund

Associate Professor of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
emzechma@ncsu.edu
Interests: water management, reclamation and conservation, complex adaptive systems, agent-based modeling, and human behavior

 

Jonathan Bohlmann

Professor of Marketing and Innovation
Poole College of Management 
jdbohlma@ncsu.edu
Interests: decision-making, first-mover advantage, innovation adoption and pricing strategy

 

Matthew Booker

Associate Professor of History
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
mmbooker@ncsu.edu
Interests: history, ecology, law, and agriculture

 

Zachary Brown

Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
zack_brown@ncsu.edu
Interests: behavioral economics, environmental policy, and biotechnology innovation

 

Jay Cheng

Professor of Biological and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
jcheng3@ncsu.edu
Interests: environmental engineering, bioenergy, reneweable energy, and waste treatment

 

Joseph DeCarolis

Associate Professor of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
jfdecaro@ncsu.edu
Interests: energy system models, economics, solid waste management, and greenhouse gas emissions

 

Jason Delborne

Associate Professor of Science, Policy and Society
College of Natural Resources 
jadelbor@ncsu.edu
Interests: science & technology policy, genetic engineering and society, politicized scientific controversies, and environmental policy

 

Owen Duckworth

Associate Professor of Soil and Environmental Biogeochemistry
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
owen_duckworth@ncsu.edu
Interests: biogeochemistry, nutrient flow, and contaminants

 

Joel Ducoste

Professor of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
jducoste@ncsu.edu
Interests: water treatment, computational fluid dynamics modeling, water/wastewater process optimization, sewer collection sustainability, energy recovery, plant biosystems, and solid waste process modeling

 

Rob Dunn

Professor of Applied Ecology
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
rob_dunn@ncsu.edu
Interests: microbiomes, microbiology, ecology, evolution, and public science

 

Ryan Emanuel

Associate Professor of Forestry and Environmental Resources
College of Natural Resources 
reemanue@ncsu.edu
Interests: ecohydrology, watershed hydrology, watershed biogeochemistry, secondary ecosystem succession, land-atmosphere interaction, and coastal science

 

David Gilmartin

Professor of History
College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
david_gilmartin@ncsu.edu
Interests: South Asia, history, and imperialism

 

Nora Haenn

Associate Professor of Anthropology and International Studies
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
nora_haenn@ncsu.edu
Interests: anthropology, sustainable development, environmental justice, multiculturalism, and conservation

 

Jane Hoppin

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
College of Sciences 
jahoppin@ncsu.edu
Interests: environmental epidemiology, chemical exposure, and environmental toxicology

 

Lee-Ann Jaykus

Professor of Food Science
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences 
leeann_jaykus@ncsu.edu
Interests: microbial food safety, food virology, and transmission of enteric viruses

 

Madhusudan Katti

Associate Professor of Leadership in Public Science
College of Natural Resources 
mkatti@ncsu.edu
Interests: land use, landscape change, evolutionary ecology, human modification, biodiversity, and conservation

 

Detlef Knappe

Professor of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
knappe@ncsu.edu
Interests: wastewater treatment, organic contaminants, drinking water quality, and drinking water treatment

 

Stefano Longo

Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
College of Humanities and Social Sciences 
stefano_longo@ncsu.edu
Interests: social and ecological systems, marine ecosystems, political economy, and food systems

 

Elizabeth Nichols

Professor of Forestry and Environmental Resources
College of Natural Resources 
egnichol@ncsu.edu
Interests: organic pollutant fate, pollutant bioavailabilty, ecological toxicology, risk assessment, and hazardous materials management

 

Dan Oubenour

Assistant Professor of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
drobenou@ncsu.edu
Interests: watershed modeling, water quality, nutrient loading, hydrologic modeling, and surface water quality

 

Ranji Ranjithan

Professor, Director of Graduate Programs, Associate Head of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
ranji@ncsu.edu
Interests: engineering systems analysis, infrastructure, sustainability, solid waste management, groundwater monitoring and remediation, and emergency management

 

Rhonda Sherman

Extension Specialist in the Department of Horticultural Science
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences 
rhonda_sherman@ncsu.edu
Interests: vermicomposting, composting, recycling, and waste reduction

 

Erin Sills

Professor and Director of International Programs in the Department of Forestry and Environmental Resources
College of Natural Resources 
sills@ncsu.edu
Interests: land use, forestry, conservation policy, economic development

 

Julie Swann

Department Head of Industrial and Systems Engineering
College of Engineering
jlswann@ncsu.edu
Interests: modeling, supply chain systems, and health care

 

Siddhartha Thakur

Director of Global Health
College of Veterinary Medicine
sthakur@ncsu.edu
Interests: molecular detection, antimicrobial resistance, food borne pathogens, animal and human interactions

 

Roger von Haefen

Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences 
roger_von_haefen@ncsu.edu
Interests: non-market valuation, environmental resources, environmental economics, and environmental policy